Done for Twenty-One

Yes.

Feel free to roll your eyes.

I have (yet again) jumped on the New Years Resolution-Goal Setting-Continuous Improvement-I’m on a Journey-Clich … err … I mean bandwagon.

First on my list of 21 items to achieve in 2021 (see what I did there?) is to quit drinking for the year.

Yes.

Feel free to re-roll your eyes.

Especially those of you who have known me/read my blog long enough to know that I have had this goal before. And that I wrote a blog about the exact same thing (remember booze free 2015?).

It’s literally been done.

And you know what? I don’t care.

I don’t care if I am being boring or repetitive or clichéd or even lazy.

I want to take a break from drinking. Quite frankly I’m a bit over it. Over the expense – financial and physical. I’m a bit over who I am on alcohol and I’m REALLY over being over it! I am sick of taking little breaks like Dry July, only to be right back where I started before the hiatus, or drinking even more heavily or frequently – just because I had proven to myself that I can stop at any time. These little breaks would set me back even further in terms of my relationship with alcohol and I was beginning to sound like Bullwinkle.

“This time for sure!”

So I’m taking the year off again. I’m hoping to regain or reconnect with some of the old self that would run more regularly, who would eat more nourishing-ly (you know what I mean) and just maybe, re-set the drinking switch in me waaaaaay back.

Maybe even turn it off forever.

And you know what? Blogging helped me achieve my booze free 2015 goals, so I’m gonna see if lightning will, in fact, strike twice.

Last drinks – NYE 2020 with my mum and big sis.

2 thoughts on “Done for Twenty-One

Leave a comment